risotto with roasted chicken & carmelized onions.

Confession: I’ve never made carmelized onions before. (I know this isn’t a shock to those who know I didn’t make my first grilled cheese until approximately 3 years ago. Hey, they’re just better when someone else makes them.)

The other night, I didn’t know what to make for dinner. I know we had an untouched rotisserie chicken in the fridge, and we always keep arborio rice in the cupboard. So that’s what I had to work with.

And then I went to Google. Here’s what it gave me …

Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Carmelized Onions

Ingredients:

4 T olive oil, divided
1 onion, chopped
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 cups uncooked arborio rice
1/4 cup dry white wine – This is why I keep a cheap bottle of white from Trader Joe’s on hand.
7 cups hot chicken broth
2 T butter
2 cups chopped cooked chicken breast
salt and pepper
2 T chopped fresh thyme

Directions:

  1. Heat 2 T of the oil  in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the onions and saute for 15-20 minutes, or until the onions are a dark golden brown. Remove from heat, stir in the balsamic vinegar and set aside.
  2. Heat the remaining oil in a separate large skillet over medium heat. Stir in the rice and mix well. Let heat for about 2 minutes, then pour in the wine. Reduce heat to medium low and start pouring in the broth about 1 cup at at time. Add more broth as each cup is absorbed. Continue in this manner until all the broth is absorbed and the rice is al dente, about 20 minutes.
  3. Stir in the reserved onion mixture and allow to heat through. Remove from heat and stir in the butter and chicken. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and garnish each serving with fresh thyme.

It was all right, but definitely could’ve benefited from some more seasoning – and it did, when I ate the leftovers. At D’s recommendation I added Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning and – boom – so much better.

Leave a Reply

