this christmas … i get to decorate.

I have my Thanksgiving decor out, I promise, but I’m already thinking Christmastime. I think it’s the weather and the darker evenings (I just hate it’s already dark out when I leave the office!). And also probably the fact that the stores are starting to get holiday decor in. I’m all about relishing Thanksgiving and my pumpkins will stay out another 3 weeks (orange is one of my favorite colors after all), but I’m getting myself prepped for June Carter’s first Christmas.

I’m also excited about finally having a home to decorate. That’s a really exciting first for me. I lived in my one bedroom apartment for 3 years and I’ve never had my first real live adult Christmas tree. I can hardly stand it. I can’t wait to decorate a tree with D’s ornaments, my ornaments, and ours, to put a Christmas bow on my boxwood wreath, and string lights up in the front of the house.

Since we don’t have a fireplace, I tend to lean towards decorating our tv console. I love that thing, which D picked up at an estate sale years ago and painted. I could see adding some bottle brush trees, which I love because they look so vintage.

bottle-brush-trees-o

{West Elm}

I have one Christmas pillow I picked up from Pottery Barn when I was in New York with my family a few years ago. I love it. I think one of my favorite things about the Pottery Barn one is that it’s just a pillow case, so it stores really easily.  But I really love this one pillow from Target, too.

car

{Target}

That pillow reminds me of Christmas Vacation and, for some reason, I think of D as my very own Clark Griswold. I was even nervous that we were going to have one of these moments while in the mountains on Sunday:

I am SO! EXCITED! about ordering Christmas stockings for D and me this year. How crazy is that!? I’ve been looking at different kinds at Pottery Barn and L.L. Bean, but how cute are these from Pottery Barn Kids!? Where else do you look for pretty personalized Christmas stockings?

stocking

{Pottery Barn Kids}

Another great place to look for holiday decor inspiration is Anthropologie. Even their window designs are amazing. (If you’re interested in that kind of thing, check out Kara Paslay. She has done some great work for them.)

How cute are these ornaments? They make me feel like they successfully blend my year round colorful home with the holiday hues.

ornaments

{Anthropologie}

In the meantime, you can also find me at Homegoods, T.J. Maxx, and Marshalls on the hunt for some woodsy holiday creatures.

Leave a Reply

