kale + walnuts + shrimp = dinner.

It’s been a few years since I made my own pesto, so I thought I’d revisit it last night (with apparently a much simpler recipe than the first go round).

What I learned last night is that maybe I should have a drink before I start cooking, rather than after. Cooking stresses me out. You know all of those people that say cooking is so relaxing? Not me. Especially not when there is a husband in the room. I get nervous and jittery and I need peace and quiet and no puppies so I can … think.

Who knew you had to think so hard to boil a pot of water?

So, for the pesto. I’d made it before, but I found a different (yet similar) recipe to try last night.

Kale and Walnut Pesto

Ingredients
5 oz bag of baby kale – washed and dried
½ cup of walnut pieces
juice from 1 small lemon
2 garlic cloves – peeled – We always just use the garlic in the jar.
Directions
  1. Add kale, walnuts, lemon juice, garlic, parmesan cheese and black pepper to a food processor.
  2. Start food processor and slowly pour the olive oil in. Process until completely blended.

I picked up some shrimp from Publix on my way home and D cooked that up while cooking the pasta (see, I need help in the kitchen) and then we just tossed them all together. It was delicious! I’m definitely making that again (and maybe next time I won’t need quite as much help … baby steps).

pasta

When I sat down, I poured myself a cup of warm apple cider and Jack Daniel’s. It was perfect. So perfect I fell asleep on the couch.

Leave a Reply

