cajun stuffed chicken.

I often find myself wondering how everyone else does it. I work all day, stay in the office late, get stuck in traffic on the way to the grocery store, pick up the necessities for some dinner for the week, head home, let the dogs out, change clothes, take the dogs on a walk, and suddenly it’s dark out and dinner hasn’t been fixed.

I guess at least yesterday I thought far enough ahead to thaw out some chicken. ($2.99 Tuesdays at The Fresh Market, I love you.) Here’s what we had last night – and how I went rogue on the recipe, a very uncharacteristic of me occurrence.

Cajun Stuffed Chicken

Ingredients:

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 oz pepper jack cheese, shredded
1 c frozen spinach, thawed and drained – You can also use fresh cooked spinach, which I chose since Daniel had some leftover from this weekend in the fridge.
2 T Cajun seasoning
Toothpicks

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Flatten the chicken to 1/4-inch thickness.
3. In a medium bowl, combine the pepper jack cheese and spinach.
4. Spoon cheese/spinach mixture evenly onto each chicken breast. Roll each chicken breast tightly and fasten the seams with several toothpicks. (I used 2 each!)
5. Sprinkle the Cajun seasoning mixture evenly over all.  Make sure you get underneath, too.  Sprinkle any remaining spinach and cheese on top of chicken (optional).
6. Place the chicken seam-side up onto a tin foil-lined baking sheet (for easy cleanup).  Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

You can see that I opted not to use breadcrumbs. I thought it provided a healthier option, and it was really good without it! For that reason, I also didn’t use olive oil. I just seasoned with some creole seasoning and skipped the salt and pepper, too.

I used some red potatoes I had left over from last week to fix us a side.

French Onion Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients:

1 packet of Lipton onion recipe soup mix
red purpose potatoes, cut into chunks
1/3 c olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. – I cooked it on 350 for a while because I was cooking the chicken simultaneously. After about 20 minutes, I increased the temperature to 400 and cooked for another 10 minutes or so and they turned out perfectly!
  2. Combine all ingredients in 13 x 9-inch baking or roasting pan.
  3. Bake, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender and golden brown.

It might not all be pretty — but it was a good dinner to be able to throw together on a busy night!

chicken dinner
Leave a Reply

