homemade peanut butter larabars.

On Sunday, after I got dinner ready to go in the crockpot, I decided to finally try to make homemade larabars. I’d already picked up some dates from Whole Foods and had a bag of peanuts from Trader Joe’s, both per my friend Lilla’s recommendation. So, with the Christmas tree lit and a movie on in the background, I got to blending.

Homemade Peanut Butter Larabars

Ingredients

1 cup pitted dates
1 cup raw peanuts
a pinch of sea salt

Directions

1. In a food processor, blend the peanuts until they are finely chopped. Pour the nuts into a bowl and set aside.
2. Since I couldn’t find pitted dates, I removed the pits first (a ridiculously easy task). Add the dates to the food processor and process until they start to smooth out and form a paste. Add the chopped peanuts and sea salt and continue blending until evenly combined. It should look similar to a fresh batch of cookie dough.
3. To form the bars, take a large sheet of saran/cling wrap and lay it flat on the counter. Pour the dough mixture out onto the cling wrap, form it into a ball using your hands, then fold the sides of the cling wrap over the dough so it is covered.
4. Begin to flatten it out using your hands or a rolling pin, shaping the edges to form a rectangle or square about 1/2″ inch thick. Then slice into bars.
5. Wrap and refrigerate to keep them their freshest.

Here it is as I was trying to flatten it with the rolling pin. I love an excuse to use a rolling pin!

larbar1

I tried slicing it into bars but really, how difficult! So I took Lilla’s advice and eventually just rolled them up in balls.

larabar2

I’m not a huge fan of dates, but they’re definitely tastier than actual larabars — and perfect for a quick snack!

Leave a Reply

