decorating for christmas.

You know what drives me crazy about Hobby Lobby? Well, to be honest, there are a few things.

1. I want almost everything I see … and I don’t need any of it. It’s a real problem.

2. They make crafting too easy. Is that possible? I don’t know for sure, but I think yes. Want to make something out of burlap? Forget just buying a yard of burlap. You can buy it in strips or in squares or basically however you want it. I went to Hobby Lobby to buy what I needed to make a tree topper and ended leaving the store with the tree topper already made. (More on that in a bit.)

3. Cell phone service. It’s the eve of 2015. It’s the decade of Google and Pinterest. And if I’m in the back of a craft superstore getting new ideas and changing ideas, I want to be able to Google and Pinterest these things to see if they’re actually doable. I hate it when I have to walk the quarter mile back to the front of Hobby Lobby just for internet service, but I still do it. So, last week, I headed to Hobby Lobby to get some wire Christmas ribbon so that a sweet coworker could make a bow for a wreath for me. (You’d think I’d just learn to do it myself, but no.) FullSizeRender (4)

(Excuse the door. It needs cleaning/repainting/replacing?)

On Monday, I went to Hobby Lobby on a mission for a few small things. I have been wanting a tree topper for the Christmas tree and saw a great idea for a DIY starburst tree topper. I already had gold spray paint, so I tossed the foam ball and wooden skewers in my basket and made a mental note to head to Lowe’s later on. I always need something from Lowe’s anyway.

Then, I found a small gold burst ball on sale for $6.99, which was definitely less than I would be spending on parts alone for a DIY. Plus, with as much painting as I already had/have on the agenda … it would be nice not to have to paint another thing. So I left behind the styrofoam ball and wooden skewers and walked out of Hobby Lobby with a tree topper already in tact.

Here it is on top of the tree:

FullSizeRender (5)

It’s subtle and I like it … at least for this year. I am always indecisive about tree toppers but I do prefer stars because I believe they represent the Star of Bethlehem. Who puts Santa on top of Christmas tree?

I’m working on a pom pom garland, too. I hadn’t planned on making them until I stumbled upon a pack of red and white (and silver!) pom poms in the back of Hobby Lobby. I wasn’t sure how to make a garland out of them, so I had to trek to the front of the store and search google. I returned to the back in search of some sort of twine or thick thread. I guess I could’ve gone with yarn? I eventually found something. Then it was a decent sized needle eye I was search for! Well, my act is finally together. Here I am in progress:

IMG_5687

I can’t wait to finish and wrap it around the tree!

Leave a Reply

