beer & cheesesteaks.

Yesterday, I swung by Whole Foods during the lunch hour to fill my growler with Highlands Cold Mountain Winter Ale, since I had heard that they had some on tap. The man who helped me at Whole Foods was beyond helpful and let me know that once you’ve purchased a growler (which I had, some time ago) you can go back and forth between sizes for no cost. Super cool. So I filled a gallon sized growler instead of a quart.

thurs1

For dinner, I decided to make philly cheesesteaks, mostly because D loves them and it felt like it had been a while since I’d been in the kitchen. I headed to Publix, since I find the guy at the meat counter there particularly helpful. He sliced a l.25 lbs of lean sirloin for me and I was on my way.

When I got home, I sliced up a yellow onion and green bell pepper and tossed them in a pan with some olive oil and a spoon full of garlic. After cooking them a while, I added in the sirloin and cooked til soft (the onion and bell pepper) and brown (the meat).

thurs2

Meanwhile, I warmed up the sub rolls I’d picked up from the fresh bread section of Publix. I filled the bread with the mixture, topped with provolone, and tossed it back in the toaster oven til the cheese melted. Voila!

thurs3

I watched Bad Santa for the first time, too. It was alright … but not as great as I’d heard it was. I think the philly was better.

Leave a Reply

