a very special birthday!

In celebration of D’s birthday (which is today!) we had a lot of projects going on over the weekend. It was a lot of fun — and very productive!

Mary Beth came up with the great idea of chalkboard painting D’s outdoor [beer] fridge, so after a trip to Lowe’s, I got to work. Check out the finished product:

fridge

I also made a banner for Thanksgiving. I printed it out from Remodelaholic. I’m loving banners lately. I hung it up in the kitchen.

thanksgiving banner

One great thing about cleaning up D’s workshop was that we found about 30 mason jars that had been left there by the previous owner and D didn’t even know about. Men. I was so excited! With a bouquet of flowers and my trusty jute, I got to decorating.

masonjars

We also strung lights up in the backyard and I filled some mason jars with candles to light up everything. It was a cold evening so I was thankful for strands of lights, candles, and the fire barrel, of course.

D cooked oyster and smoked two butts. That meant Mary Beth and I spent a lot of time in the kitchen getting other food prepared.

food

I made sausage balls, a key lime cheese ball, Reese’s peanut butter cookies, and a brie dip topped with jalapeno cranberry sauce and wrapped in crescent roll dough. There was so much to be had!

mustache

One thought on “a very special birthday!

Leave a Reply

