a weekend at home.

Every now and then, when I’m wrapped up in commissioned pieces and churning them out as fast as I can while still working a full time job, I have to take a minute and recharge by grabbing a piece of scrap wood and painting something I want to paint. So Friday I did just that. Here it is in progress:

pig1

And here it is completed:

pig2

I think I will list it for sale eventually here. Right now it makes me happy to look at.

Friday night, D and I went to Publick House for dinner. I ate a philly cheesesteak. I’ve never had one there before. It was different, but good. I’d been craving one lately. We also got in a couple of rounds of darts. I’m really good until about halfway through when I need to start aiming and can’t do it at all. Oh well. They had River Rat Double IPA on draft, though, so I was happy.

publickhouse

Saturday morning, Miles Davis and I went on a nice run in the cool air. I really enjoyed it and he seemed to as well. I’d like to get him into being a good running companion. It would be nice, especially as it’s getting dark out, to have him by my side to make me feel safe.

Afterwards, I headed to Occo to get a manicure and pedicure. I really love that place and never go get pampering. However, my sweet former roommate gave me a gift certificate for my birthday last year, so I finally used it and can’t wait to go back. Maybe it’s addictive.

When I finished up, I headed to the Chili Cookoff. The place was packed. So good! Proceeds from the event benefit Camp Kemo. We went and grabbed a late lunch at Sizzle, since we were right around the corner. It was delicious! The exterior may look ominous, but the interior made me really looking forward to bringing D back with me next time I go. I had the Panini Caprese, which included fresh mozzarella, tomato and basil with a balsamic glaze. I added bacon to it, of course. Isn’t it funny that it didn’t already include bacon? Watch out Southern Belly, Sizzle might be my new favorite.

sizzle

Saturday night, D and I also got to meet up with some of my family who were in town. In case you wanted to know how much of a mess he and I are, check us out. I swear, we clean up nice and we own clothes other than flannel. (Also, I dared him to try No Shave November, so please excuse the ‘stache.)

bonefish

Yesterday it was nice to enjoy a day at my apartment. I even whipped up some lemon poppyseed muffins (from a box – delicious). So far, I’m quite the fan of November.

Leave a Reply

