sweet potato fries.

I count myself lucky quite frequently. I have a wonderful family. My football team is having a good season. I love where I live more and more as the years go by. Anthropologie is moving in 3 miles from my apartment this very month. Oh, and my other half knows how to operate a stove just as well as he does a miter saw.

Be still my heart.

In January, I made philly cheesesteak bell peppers. D has been on a mission to improve upon stuffed bell peppers ever since, and after this weekend I am convinced he’s finally mastered it. I’d tell you how he did it, but he didn’t use a recipe or any measuring cups. He just likes to get funky in the kitchen.

bellpeppers

I wanted to cook up something to go with it, so I grabbed a sweet potato and a cooking tray (and a recipe, ’cause I’m not that good).

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients

1 whole sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into thin sticks
1 T butter
garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
paprika

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
2. Melt the butter and skim off the foam. Add garlic, seasoned salt, chili powder, and black pepper. Stir with a fork.
3. In a large bowl, toss the sweet potatoes in the butter/seasoning mixture. Arrange on two baking sheets and bake in the oven for 15 to 17 minutes, shaking the pans halfway through, until the fries are sizzling (watch so that the edges don’t burn). Remove from the oven and allow to sit on the pan for 5 minutes. Sprinkle generously with paprika.

sweettater1

Served with a side of Sweet Baby Ray’s, they were good, but not really crunchy. I knew I wanted a redo almost immediately.

Sunday morning, D made chicken and waffles for brunch for myself, my brother, and my brother’s girlfriend. They were, as always, delicious. He definitely perfected those earlier in the year. The first weekend in October, while at the beach, we purchased a fryer, and he’s using that now for his chicken. Delicious.

waffles

Instead of going ahead and cleaning the fryer up after brunch, I decided to keep it out so I could try to continue my attempt to perfect my sweet potato fries. The good thing is, my grandmother lives in New Zion and oftentimes sends loads of sweet potatoes to us. So I’ve got a lot to work with right now.

Plus, I needed something to go with our leftover bell peppers, which were equally delicious for round two after being individually wrapped in tin foil and reheated in the oven just like that.

I seasoned the fries the same way I had done Saturday night (with a little Italian Seasoning, too), except this time I dropped them in the fryer. They were just slightly crispier and perhaps a little tastier. But overall, there wasn’t that much of a difference. And with peanut oil, there’s not too much of a difference health-wise either.

sweettater2

This time, after they were cooked, D added some more Italian Seasoning to his portion and I added cinnamon to mine. Oh, the cinnamon. It was amazing.

Any suggestions for how I can use the rest of the sweet potatoes? Have I mentioned I don’t like them served whole or in casseroles?

Leave a Reply

