mexican lasagna.

Ever since my friend Lilla started blogging I’ve been trying my best to soak in every bit of what she shares.

One of the hardest things about eating healthy is doing it on a budget. People say it’s expensive to eat out but I can get a slice of pizza that makes me full and a craft beer for a total of $4 on a Tuesday night at Pizza Joint. It’s buying organic food for a deal and finding recipes sans butter and starches that the man in the house will like too that’s the problem.

Monday night I left the office and headed straight to Whole Foods to scoop up a few ingredients I needed. Next I went to Trader Joe’s where I knew the fresh veggies would be in an affordable price point for me and I was able to complete the ingredients I needed to cook dinner for one night this week. Ironically, I ran into Lilla at Whole Foods, her recipe in my hand, and lamented how they were out of the frozen three pepper blend at Whole Foods. A fact that only makes me want to frequent Whole Foods more to scoop it up.

I finally took to my own kitchen Tuesday night to fix dinner. It feels like it’s been far too long since I’ve been in the kitchen and I’ve missed it a lot.

Mexican Lasagna

Ingredients

1 8-oz (or 1/2 of a 16 oz bag) frozen fire roasted corn
1 red bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper, and 1 yellow bell pepper
1 habanero pepper
2 cans organic refried roasted chili and lime pinto beans
1 can organic black beans (rinsed and drained)
2 16-oz jars organic mild salsa
1-2 cups of mexican blend shredded cheese
1 8-oz pack of organic corn tortillas (small, 12 per pack) – They’re in the refrigerated section at Whole Foods.)
Cilantro for garnish

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
2. Slice and saute the peppers and frozen corn in a large saute pan until thawed.

peppers

3. Add the refried beans, black beans, and salsa to the pepper/corn mix. Stir until combined.
4. Spray or wipe down a large baking dish with olive oil.
5. Begin to layer the lasagna. Spread a thin layer of filling on the bottom of the pan, top with tortillas (single layer/tear them to fill in gaps), filling and cheese. Repeat until there’s no room left!
6. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes (or until heated through). Serve with sour cream and cilantro!

mexilasagna

Leave a Reply

