hometeam home projects.

I love looking at houses. I find myself on Zillow all the time just trying to see the inside of people’s homes. How do other people live? How do they decorate? What works for all these strangers? I like seeing and admiring (and judging) different styles. I like getting ideas from them. Mom always says mimicry is the most sincere form of flattery.

It’s one of the reasons I love reading Young House Love and following along with their projects. It gives me ideas. It teaches me things. They love color, too!

So it comes as no surprise that when D decided to finally redo his guest bathroom in his “spare time” and put me in charge of picking out everything I was DELIGHTED. I rent, so finally being put in charge of a paint color was like Christmas for me. My parents never let me do that before!

His guest bathroom was a wreck before. Why fix small things when the whole thing was one big piece in need of fixing? I can’t say I disagree at all. I like to start fresh completely.

The thing that amazes me with D is how modest he is. He’ll start doing something, like using a blow torch to solder a copper pipe and just casually say something like “I haven’t done this since college” and I’ll be on the edge of my seat watching him melt hot metal right over his toes while he is calm and cool as can be. And ever so good at it, too.

It was so much fun to be able to help out with this project some. While he gets to do some of this stuff full time as a contractor (check out Hometeam Renovations & Repairs if you’re in the area and ever need anything!), it was a nice break away from the office for me.

Here’s a glimpse of the finished product:

bathroom1

Paint: Sage Bud by Valspar
Mirror: Marshall’s
Appliances: Lowe’s

And, if you really want to see how far it came, check it out: [In the interest of full disclosure please note: boys live here.]

bathroom2

What an improvement, right?

One thought on “hometeam home projects.

Leave a Reply

