quinoa meatball subs + stuffed jalapenos.

Not too long ago, Reagan shared that she had made quinoa meatball subs for dinner. I knew immediately I had to follow in her steps. Then I shared this information with D and he has been asking me about it ever since. I love quinoa; he loves meat. It was a match made in culinary heaven.

It was also a perfect project for me to tackle on Labor Day. I started out my late afternoon by going on a run in the triple digits. It was awful.

Since D hadn’t eaten lunch, I fixed him some stuffed jalapenos as an appetizer when he got home from work. Yeah, he thinks “labor” means you have to work on Labor Day. That worth ethic, man.

Stuffed Jalapenos

Ingredients

Cream cheese
Worcestershire Sauce
Pepperjack Cheese
Mixed Mexican Shredded Cheese
Pimento Cheese
5 jalapenos

Directions

1. Cut jalapenos in half lengthwise, removing seeds.
2. Boil in water for 5-10 minutes, depending on desired hottness.
3. Remove from water and dry. Meanwhile, stir together cream cheese, pepperjack cheese, shredded cheese, and Worcestershire sauce.
4. Fill 5 halves with cream cheese mixture and remaining 5 halves with pimento cheese.
5. Place on greased baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for 5-10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Obviously you can add whatever you want to these. This is just to give an idea. I worked with what I happened to have on hand. And D preferred the cream cheese stuffed jalapenos, which I was surprised by seeing as I just threw that all together. You never know.

jalappenos

I was excited to finally get around to cooking the quinoa meatball subs. I had put it off because Reagan had stressed the MUST WASH QUINOA part of the whole recipe. That seemed to stump me. Those things are so tiny, how are you supposed to wash them?

That’s when I met the sieve. I’d never even heard of it before, although my primary years could very easily be labeled Clueless in the Kitchen. When Mary Beth and I decided to go to Ikea a couple of weeks ago I immediately thought — I wonder if they have a sieve amongst their bounty of kitchen supplies. After being unable to find one on their website I was beyond excited to find it in store! And so cheap. (Ah, Ikea.)

Thus, Labor Day was her maiden voyage. In preparation, I’m the nerd who watched a youtube how-to video on washing quinoa. Meanwhile, D couldn’t figure out what the white noise I was staring at could possibly be. Just me watching someone wash quinoa for fun.

Quinoa Meatball Subs

Ingredients

1/2 cup of quinoa
1 cup low sodium beef broth
1 large white onion
3 jalapenos
1 lb. ground turkey
1 egg
1/2 cup shredded cheese of your choice – I used pepperjack because I had it on hand and I also wanted to make these have more kick.
BBQ sauce – I used Sweet Baby Ray’s and Pampered Chef Chipotle Cherry BBQ Sauce. I also used some Vidalia Onion Peach Hot Sauce I picked up at Kudzu in Pawley’s Island on some.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425°.
2. Rinse 1/2 cup quinoa (as mentioned, do not skip this step!), drain, and add to saute pan. Toast on low heat until water evaporates.
3. Add 1 cup low sodium beef broth to quinoa and cook on medium-low heat with lid on until all the liquid is absorbed, about 10 to 15 minutes.
4. While quinoa is cooking, add a large white onion and 3 jalapeno peppers (seeds removed) into food processor and pulse until diced small.
5. Add onion/pepper mixture into large bowl with 1 lb ground turkey, lean ground beef or bison, 1 egg, and 1/2 cup shredded cheese of your choice. Add quinoa once cooled, and mix together.
6. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray. Form into 1″ meatballs and evenly space on cookie sheet. Bake for 12 minutes (15 minutes for bison) and take out.
7. Lightly coat with your choice of bbq sauce and cook for another 3 minutes to 5 minutes based on doneness before adding bbq.
8. I served them on warmed wheat sub rolls and also tried broiling pimento cheese on some. Both delicious!

meatballs

I can’t wait to try these with spaghetti sometime. I’ve now eaten them for lunch plain and D used some of the leftovers with the leftover Huevos Rancheros and tossed them together to make a burrito (… men) and he described it as “a masterpiece” (… modest). He also mentioned we should try cooking them and then tossing them in the crockpot with the barbeque sauce. The guy loves some barbeque sauce. I’m pumped about making these again and again.

Leave a Reply

