brevard getaway.

I was in desperate need of  a weekend away this past weekend and so D and I pointed the car north on Friday afternoon and headed straight to Brevard.

When we got there, we stopped for mexican food and beers at Quixote, a favorite of mine. Vacation had officially begun.

quixote

Saturday morning we got up early (and in the pouring rain), grabbed breakfast at Bracken Mountain Bakery, and headed to Pisgah National Forest to check out the waterfalls.

waterfall

The upside was that there was no one there, so it felt like we had the forest all to ourselves.

happy

Well, as “to ourselves” as we could be with this guy.

dude

We went to Looking Glass Falls and Moore Cove Falls and a few others along the way. I felt like we kept finding waterfalls everywhere we turned and I loved it.

happy2

I especially loved walking under the waterfall especially. Not to mention that was the only place I could stay dry.

waterfall2

That afternoon we grabbed lunch at The Square Root. I had the fried green tomato BLT with sweet potato chips and D had the london broil sandwich, both with a side or Brevard Brewing Ale. We loved everything about the place.

squareroot

After lunch and some shopping (D is such a good sport), we headed over to Oskar Blues – my favorite brewery! I knew exactly what I wanted: Mama’s Little Yella Pils. D was a bit more unsure … but he eventually found his way!

oskarblues

Saturday night we headed to dinner at Hobnob. It was the perfect atmosphere and such a great date night with my favorite person.

hobnob

We went to The Phoenix afterwards to hear a rockabilly band. I drank peach moonshine and enjoyed watching everybody else dance.

happy3

Sunday morning on our way out of town we stopped for brunch at Cedar Mountain Cafe before heading up to Pretty Place – arguably my favorite place in the world.

prettyplace

I was glad I finally got a chance to share it with D.

happy4

After we left Camp Greenville, we headed down to hike Raven Cliff Falls. Once we finished that 4.5 mile long trail, I felt like I deserved another beer and soon.

raven

We stopped in Greenville on the way home and grabbed a late lunch at the Universal Joint, one of my favorites from Asheville.

I had such a wonderful time in the mountains with my best friend and I already can’t wait to escape with him again soon.

Leave a Reply

