salsa chicken + spicy fries.

Is anyone else slightly scared of using crock pots? I think it’s just the notion of leaving something “on” all day while I sit at my desk 6 miles away.

I’m slowly trying to get over that since everyone else in the world seems to be capitalizing on the slow cooker revolution. So, I set up the crock pot in the morning before I left for the office and crossed my fingers all would be well (and not on fire or completely dry) upon my return.

Salsa Chicken

Ingredients:

3-4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 large diced tomatoes – I only used one roma.
1.5 cups (roughly) of your favorite salsa
2 tbsp garlic powder – I used fresh minced garlic.
2 tbsp red pepper flakes
1 tbsp black pepper
1 tsp cayenne pepper
sliced onions and bell peppers left over from a previous recipe

Directions:

1. Place chicken in crock pot and add all remaining ingredients.
2. Cook on low for at least 7 hours. I definitely cooked it more than 7 hours. I was at the office for 10.
3. Once cooked, shred the chicken in the crock pot and let it cool before placing it in a container.

As a side, I had planned on cooking spicy sweet potato fries but apparently picked up regular potatoes instead. Not realizing this until I stepped in the kitchen after work, I decided to keep with the same recipe and try it with sweet potatoes later.

Spicy Fries

Ingredients:

2 potatoes
diced garlic
salt
cayenne pepper
paprika
olive oil

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
2. Slice potatoes into fry shapes.
3. Place potato slices on sheet in a bowl and sprinkle with all the spices and olive oil. Toss to combine.
4. Grease a cookie sheet and add potato slices, spreading in an even layer. Top with more paprika and cayenne pepper.
5. Bake for 25 minutes, flipping halfway through and checking near the end to avoid burning.

I served the salsa chicken on whole wheat hoagie rolls topped with a slice of gouda. It was delicious and filling — and made plenty of leftovers! Some of which we added some cream cheese, cheddar cheese, and Texas Pete too and made buffalo chicken dip!

salsachicken

Leave a Reply

