soulshine is better than sunshine.

I’m fairly predictable sometimes when it comes to music. Every time a Neil Young song plays, somewhere I’m saying “I love this song.” I go straight to Van Morrison’s name every time I enter a record store. And every time “Soulshine” plays I smile big. (Hearing Government Mule play it live this year was the best.)

So when a friend of mine commissioned me to paint those lyrics for her, I was ecstatic. She gave me no boundaries — something that sometimes makes me nervous but this one time, I really loved. “Colorful” was all I was told. The dimensions I made up myself and the fun began.

soulshineedit

I really wanted something that was versatile and would work with whatever color scheme she had (which I didn’t know). I also worked with a lot of the colors I’ve leaned towards lately for a couple of reasons: I already had them on hand and because they are colors I’ve really been loving lately.

Here’s the final product:

soulshine

Leave a Reply

