tomato pie.

I never thought I’d be a tomato pie girl. In fact, for the longest time, I could have bet my season football tickets that I wouldn’t be a tomato girl either. But 4 years of living with Emily and a couple of times of not denying her the satisfaction of slicing up tomatoes to put on salads she was so graciously fixing me for dinner, and I just started eating them.

(I’m still weird and don’t like tomatoes – or cheese! – on my burgers.)

Soon enough I was at a work lunch and the only thing on the menu was tomato sandwiches and I, hater of tomatoes and mayonnaise, obliged and devoured that tasty southern treat.

So when I had my first tomato pie at The Palmetto Club at another work event, I thought it might be the very best thing I’d ever eaten in my life. (Stop arguing when people tell you your tastes change from your early twenties to your late twenties and just let it happen.)

Not too long ago I stumbled across a tomato pie Garden & Gun published and, viewing the ingredients and the directions as pretty manageable by my standards, I thought I’d take it for a spin and serve it for dinner.

Several people naysayed the dijon mustard in the recipe, but take it from me — it was pure tomato perfection. Give it a go.

Tomato Pie

Ingredients

4 shallots, minced
3 garlic cloves, minced
4 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil, divided
1 tbsp. dijon mustard
9-inch pie shell
1 lb. assorted heirloom tomatoes, sliced ¼-inch thick – I just used one large heirloom tomato.
3 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
½ oz. fresh basil chiffonade
1 tbsp. grenache vinegar – I used regular vinegar.
½ cup fresh bread crumbs
1 oz. grated parmesan cheese – I forgot to add this and it was beyond delicious without it.
Salt and pepper

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. In a small pan, sauté shallots and garlic in 1 tablespoon of olive oil until tender, about 3 minutes. Stir in mustard, and set aside.
3. Place pastry shell in a 9-inch pie dish. Layer in half of the tomatoes, and season with salt and pepper; spread shallot mixture over top. Add goat cheese and half of the basil, distributing evenly. Layer in remaining tomatoes, and season with salt and pepper. Drizzle 1 tablespoon each of olive oil and vinegar over the tomatoes; top with remaining basil.
4. In a small bowl, combine bread crumbs, remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and parmesan cheese (optional). Sprinkle evenly over tomato filling.
5. Bake 30 minutes, or until topping and crust are golden brown.

20140708-083239-30759628.jpg

2 thoughts on “tomato pie.

  1. That looks amazing! And I am totally with you on the changing-tastes-phenomenon…I HATED onions my whole life until somewhere in my 20s I started liking them; any kind, in any kind of iteration, on pretty much any food.

Leave a Reply

