black bean burger + zucchini chips.

One of my favorite things to eat is a black bean burger. I think I like it more than any hamburger. And coming off a weekend filled with cookouts, I suppose it’s appropriate that for Monday night dinner, black bean burgers it was.

My favorite black bean burger is from Kickstand in Charlotte. I’d like to make one comparable to that deliciousness … eventually. This being my first attempt, I’ll take a “this is good” from D and call it a day.

Avocado Bean Burgers

Ingredients:

1 14.5 oz can black beans, drained
½ of a medium avocado
¾ cup rolled oats ground into a flour in food processor
1 egg
⅓ cup chopped onion – I used a red onion simply because it’s what I had. Apart from the crying, it worked fine.
⅓ cup chopped red pepper (about ½ a bell pepper)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp cumin
½ tsp smoked paprika
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
½ tsp salt

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.
2. Add beans and avocado to a large bowl. Mash together well with a fork, leaving some beans whole. (I had to make D do this; it was hard.)
3. Add in the rest of the ingredients and stir to combine. (I didn’t measure the last 5 ingredients so don’t take my word for those variables. I just tossed and poured and squeezed and then said “okay.”)
4. Form into 4 patties. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping after 10 minutes. (I thought forming them into patties was going to be more difficult than it was but it was fine. Flipping was fine, too. I just had to remind myself that black bean patties aren’t as firm as hamburgers … ever.)

Because I like toppings on my “burgers” I tossed together some guacamole with the leftover avocado, some of the red onion diced up, and some Marie Sharp’s. D also added a slice of gouda to his burger.

For a side, we had baked zucchini chips. I’m not a huge zucchini fan but I’m trying to work on my vegetables so I decided to try cooking them a way I might like them.

Baked Zucchini Chips

Ingredients:

2 zucchinis, sliced very thin
olive oil
a handful of other spices – I told D to come over and season as he pleased.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 225°F.
2. Thinly slice the zucchini. Place the zucchini slices onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. (We didn’t have parchment paper so I just used tin foil.)
3. Season and drizzle with spices.
4. Depending on your oven, bake for 35-45 minutes, keeping an eye on them so they don’t burn. When done, remove chips from baking sheet and place them on a plate and let cool. (Mine weren’t “crunchy” but they were still tasty!)

20140708-074318-27798791.jpg

(That side of Sweet Baby Ray’s was pretty amazing, too.)

One thought on “black bean burger + zucchini chips.

Leave a Reply

