stuffed chicken.

It’s been a while since I’ve been in the kitchen so I made it my goal to cook tonight post logging a few miles in on the pavement.

Bacon and feta stuffed chicken breasts were on the menu. The recipe called for 6 chicken breasts so I modified it for 2 since it was just us.

Ingredients

Crumbled Feta Cheese – I just bought the herb kind I saw there because I love it.
1 package TJ’s Uncured Bacon, cooked and crumbled – I used 4 slices of bacon.
2 TJ’s Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, pounded flat
Toothpicks
1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil – I just used the bacon grease instead since it was there.
Dried Oregano
Dried Basil – I didn’t have any since D keeps going to buy it and accidentally picking up a [4th] thing of oregano. I just tossed in some pepper instead. Lots of pepper. I gave it a kick.
1 can (14.5 oz) TJ’s Diced Tomatoes & Juice From Can – Used about 2/3 of this.

Directions

1. Combine feta and bacon in a mixing bowl.
2. Place the cheese/bacon mixture on the center of each chicken breast. Fold breast over to enclose mixture; fasten with a toothpick.
3. Heat a large sauté pan (with bacon grease or oil) to medium and add stuffed breasts; turn breasts while cooking to brown on all sides.
4. Add tomatoes and seasoning to pan. Lower heat to a simmer; cook about 15 – 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Thumbs up from the man of the house so I think I might swing this recipe again!

20140402-212911.jpg

Leave a Reply

