french onion pasta.

Some time ago I’d bookmarked a recipe for french onion pasta and last night I finally got to making it. I used a good many substitutions to avoid going to the grocery store. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

2 cups of uncooked penne pasta – I used the leftover whole wheat penne I had from the pasta & chicken in pumpkin cream sauce.
1 cup of chicken stock – I used chicken bouillon instead.
1 packet of Lipton’s Onion soup mix
1 shallot, finely diced – I tossed in some chopped onion spice in lieu of this.
2 cloves of garlic, smashed – I used a couple of tablespoons of garlic from the jar. We cook with garlic a lot.
1/2 cup of marsala wine – I just went with some old red wine we had that D has been using to cook with. It was probably much more vinegary than marsala but worked fine.
4 tablespoons of light cream – Since I had just bought whipping cream for Monday’s recipe, I used 2 tablespoons of that + 2 tablespoons of whole milk.
1 tablespoon flour
1/4 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese – We used shredded parmesan instead.
1 tablespoon EVOO

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to the directions, set aside and keep warm.
2. In a saucepan, heat the EVOO. Add the chopped onion and garlic, stir continually until soft and fragrant.
3. Add the wine, stir.
4. Add the stock and soup mix packet, allow to cook on low for about 20 minutes. (Now, because I’m impatient and because I had someone sitting and watching me cook who had just worked for 12 hours straight, I only did this about 12 minutes before continuing with steps 5 & 6 and then allowing it to simmer while I got the pasta cooked to my liking.)
5. Stir in flour, whisking continually until well incorporated and thickened.
6. Add the light cream, mix well.
7. Add the pasta to the sauce, stir well.
8. Pour into bowls. Top with cheese and serve.

20131031-083716.jpg

I got a high five and a “well done!” to go with it, so I know for sure it was good.

Leave a Reply

