a weekend of firsts.

I needed a lazy non-football weekend at home like I need a grilled cheese on most days, so I was incredibly thankful this past weekend showed up. Friday night after work we hit the kitchen to cook up some fish and sweet potato fries (and hot apple cider + whiskey for me) and then hit the couch with a movie. It was a perfect night in after a very long week.

Saturday morning I was at Hobby Lobby when they opened, at Publix soon after, and visiting with Mims subsequently before heading home to make my first piece of jewelry in a long time.

20131028-084711.jpg

I’ve mostly just been fixing jewelry for my friends lately so I was excited to find the stone above at Consign It, a consignment shop on Forest Drive, for a mere $4. I couldn’t wait to add a longer chain and some color to it for a simple statement piece.

Saturday evening we headed to our dear friends Ashley and Jesse’s Halloween party. I wore an old Alice in Wonderland costume of mine and Daniel dressed up like a cowboy.

20131028-084958.jpg

Mims and Mary Beth came by later after they attended a wedding.

20131028-085132.jpg

Sunday morning D, Mary Beth, Tucker, Robert, Patrick, and I all feasted on breakfast at D’s. I cooked bacon for the first time EVER! I know I know but why cook it when someone is always willing to cook it for you?

After everyone left, D and I got to carving our pumpkins. Another first for me. And they looked quite spooky at night.

20131028-085401.jpg

We finished out the weekend with some tomato soup, pesto grilled cheese, an avocado, and some American Horror Story.

20131028-085512.jpg

I love this time of year.

Leave a Reply

