another year wiser.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been a birthday person. Septembers filled with surgeries and grad school classes, football games where the rain never ceased, sadnesses and too-busy friends have all contributed to a lack of desire for celebration on my part.

This year D was on a mission to change my perspective. He greeted me with a beautiful new record player he’d painted a bright shade of yellow – a color I’d told him I someday wanted to paint a piano. Playing on the record player was a new Avett record.

20130930-094757.jpg

I came home from work to lavender roses from my biffle.

20130930-095343.jpg

And D filled my day with bliss from sun up to sun down, which to my surprise [and apparent terror] was set with a surprise dinner amongst some of my best friends. (Laura even came down from Charlotte for the night!) It was the birthday to end all bad birthdays and we continued celebrating the following night at The Palmetto Club with my parents and brother. Cheers to a hopeful new year.

Leave a Reply

