caesar’s head, south carolina.

August is a big month of travel for me and this year I started it off with a week in Caesar’s Head with the family. We hit a lot of trails and waterfalls including a two mile hike that rappelled down to gorgeous Rainbow Falls, a look at Pretty Place, and a glimpse at all 4 falls in DuPont State Forest.

20130822-140050.jpg

{Pretty Place}

20130822-140132.jpg

{Hiking up to Rainbow Falls}

20130822-140204.jpg

{Rainbow Falls}

We stayed in a gorgeous home in Caesar’s Head and made day trips to Bervard, NC for dinner at Marco Trattoria and lunch at Quixote and beer tastings at Oskar Blues and antiquing downtown.

20130822-140523.jpg

{Drinking a Mama’s Little Yella Pils with Mom at Oskar Blues}

We went to Asheville for the day to visit Asheville Brewing Company and Highland Brewery and for dinner at Curaté.

20130822-140641.jpg

{Asheville Brewing Company}

20130822-140710.jpg

{Highland Brewery}

The mountain house we stayed in was in Cliff Ridge and there we played tennis and went canoeing and fishing and swimming and jogging.

20130822-140817.jpg

{Before a tennis match with my brother Daniel}

20130822-140852.jpg

{Canoeing with my brother Will}

20130822-140920.jpg

{Hanging with my brothers and sister-in-law Katie}

And I was reminded time and time again why the mountains are my first love.

3 thoughts on “caesar’s head, south carolina.

  1. I haven’t been canoeing since I was a kid! It always looks like so much fun! Glad somebody gets to travel a lot this month. I haven’t been anywhere since May and I am itching to go on another trip!

  2. I love the mountains and especially the waterfalls. Looks like y’all had a great time. This just makes me want to make a trip soon.

Leave a Reply

