war horse weekend.

This weekend started off with dinner with my family at Basil on Friday night in celebration of my mom’s SIXTIETH(!) birthday. She looks damn good for 60.

20130603-083347.jpg

{Daniel, me, Will}

20130603-083426.jpg

{Katie, Mom, Dad}

After a quick stop in ULTA for the girls, I hit the road for New Zion for a weekend with my grandmother.

Saturday morning we woke up early and headed to Turbeville to pick up a couple of her friends and then the 4 of us set out for Florence to meet up with a tour bus coming through from Myrtle Beach. Once we loaded up on the bus we set out for our final destination: Charlotte.

20130603-083647.jpg

Once in Charlotte we unloaded just in time to attend the matinee of War Horse. It was undoubtedly one of the best plays I’ve ever been to and I highly recommend it to anyone.

After a stop at Cracker Barrel we headed home. I realized that night my Nana is super concerned I don’t eat seeing as though the only thing she saw me eat all weekend were biscuits and eggs. Oops.

I loved getting to spend the weekend with her but I had a hard time keeping up with her 84 year old self! She was up before me every day and stayed up much later than I every night. And apparently was worried I was going to fall back asleep and miss 11 o’clock church. But I saw her pleasantly surprised face from the choir loft when she saw me sitting in the pew.

On my way back to Columbia after church I drove right by our farm and this view of it:

20130603-090132.jpg

Leave a Reply

