the best fruit smoothie i’ve ever had.

The folks are out of town for the rest of the week meaning I get the honor of pet sitting the prettiest chocolate lab anyone has ever seen. Before Mom and Dad set out for Asheville I asked Mom to leave me some directions for her vitamix so I could continue with my breakfast smoothies/shakes while at their house.

She did me one better and left me this (sweet woman that she is):

20130418-150501.jpg

So this morning I got up and set out to use the vitamix only to have to call my dad at 7 am because I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t working. (Answer: I needed to add some water.)

Once I got it going it made the most delicious smoothie ever:

20130418-150622.jpg

If you have a few hundred dollars to spare, the vitamix is incredible. It made a few household (for us) ingredients totally delicious. Here’s Mom’s recipe:

1 apple, cut up with peel still on
1 banana
1 spoonful of apple butter
a splash of lemon juice (fresh lemon preferred but lemon juice works just fine)
crushed ice
water

Turn on and press the “smoothie” button until it stops!

Leave a Reply

