sunday eats.

I decided last week there were a couple of things I wanted to cook over the weekend if I had time and one of those I fixed for brunch on Sunday.

Thanks to Sunny Point Cafe I’m a huge lover of huevos rancheros. (And now I’m thinking I might should try my hand at a few more of their menu items.)

I found this recipe for huevos rancheros and decided to see what I could do with it. Here’s my (slight) spin:

3 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil, divided
2 corn tortillas – I’m pretty sure mine weren’t corn. I bought whatever Trader Joe’s had in wheat.
1/2 cup black beans (from a can, drained and rinsed)
1 clove garlic
1 tsp chili powder – I did not have. Instead I subbed Buster’s Rub for this & cumin as it was the closest thing I had to a “seasoning” of sorts in my cabinet.
1 tsp ground cumin – See above.
2 Tbs. salsa – I used my favorite, Trader Joe’s double roasted.
2 eggs
1 Tbs. sour cream – Gross. I skipped.
fresh cilantro, for garnish – Let’s be real, I have few “fresh” herbs. In fact right now I don’t have any that are alive.
coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

In a mini food processor, add the beans, garlic, Buster’s Rub, a teaspoon of oil and a small pinch of salt and pepper. Blitz until you get a puree. Transfer to a small sauce pan and set it on a low heat. Stir (or press around) the mixture until it’s heated through. Remove from heat.

Put a small skillet over the heated burner and add the tiniest bit of oil. Lightly fry (it’s almost toasting really) each tortilla until slightly browned and bubbly. Transfer to a plate.

Add a tsp of oil (or a little more) to the skillet and crack your egg in. Continue to fry the egg until the white is set but the yolk is still runny.

In the meantime, spread the bean mixture over a tortilla, followed by the salsa. Then top each with an egg. Dollop with a little more salsa, fresh cilantro sprigs (if you have it) and a good grind of black pepper.

20130408-211116.jpg

{Not the prettiest but it was seriously good.}

This recipe makes enough for 2 servings, hence the additional egg. I thought it was really good and simple and will definitely play with the recipe again.

I’m also glad I didn’t eat lunch or anything else for the day as Mary Beth, Daniel (Mary Beth’s brother), Robert, and I decided to check out Kiki’s Chicken and Waffles for dinner.

I had a blueberry waffle and mac and cheese while everyone else got the chicken (wings) and waffles.

20130408-153511.jpg

Daniel ordered the “world famous red velvet waffle” for dessert.

20130408-154147.jpg

I already can’t wait to go back to try the fish and grits. I also really need to go run after that meal.

2 thoughts on “sunday eats.

Leave a Reply

