basically i had key lime pie for breakfast.

I was thinking this morning about substitutions we make. This morning I was substituting ingredients, so often we substitute different things for God, and it made me think of a line from one of my favorite books and a concept which I speak of often.

“We’re all searching for something to fill up what I like to call that big, God-shaped hole in our souls. Some people use alcohol, or sex, or their children, or food, or money, or music, or heroin. A lot of people even use the concept of God itself. I could go on and on. I used to know a girl who used shoes. She had over two-hundred pairs. But it’s all the same thing, really. People, for some stupid reason, think they can escape their sorrows.” – God-Shaped Hole, Tiffanie DeBartolo

So, back to substituting ingredients. It’s funny what kind of tangent 20 minutes in the kitchen can cause your mind to go on.

Laura introduced me to a great website this week called He and She Eat Clean. Now I have a bit of an obsession with anything key lime [pie] flavored so I was immediately drawn to their recipe for a Key Lime Pie Protein Shake. Here’s what I ended up doing:

Ingredients:

½ avocado, peeled and pitted
Juice of 1 lime
½ unsqueezed, peeled lime
1 scoop vanilla protein powder – I used Amazing Grace Green Superfood Berry Drink Powder. My mom uses it in smoothies all the time so I thought it might work, despite the berry flavor which, trust me, isn’t very flavorful as I drink this mixed with 8 ounces of water all the time and it basically tastes like dirt.
½ tbsp. vanilla extract – would you believe I didn’t have any vanilla extract? I skipped this.
½ cup almond milk
½ cup unflavored greek yogurt – I decided to use vanilla greek yogurt because 1. I’m more likely to eat that with granola later and 2. I thought it would make up for the lack of vanilla protein powder and, coincidentally, the lack of vanilla extract.
1 ¼ cup stevia – I used equal because I have it and don’t believe it’s bad for me.
4 ice cubes

Blend.

It turned out surprisingly tasty! And I only squirted the lime in my eye once. Now the big question remains: is it still a protein shake if I substituted the protein powder? I’m gonna go with yes.

20130403-084020.jpg

2 thoughts on “basically i had key lime pie for breakfast.

  1. I got two bags of fresh key-limes at the grocers with no idea what I was going to do with all of them. I looked up all the key-lime pie recipes, but I live alone and can’t eat a whole pie, and I don’t like to bake a lot, so I thought, why not do something simple? I like simple. So I had this idea for a shake. I used 2 cups of plain goat-milk kefir, a packet of Vega One French Vanilla nutritional shake, the juice of several key-limes (maybe 9, I like to really taste the lime though, so less is better for those who don’t), 1/4 a cup of honey (the nutritional powder is not sweet enough to break the extreme sour of fresh key limes), and finally, because I cook all day for a living and don’t like to cook at home either, I threw in a raw egg that I was going to cook for breakfast! Delicious! Well, I had to comment, because right away I went on line to see if others thought that key-lime shakes were good for breakfast, and apparently, they do! Mine came out looking exactly like yours, although different ingredients. Bon appetite.

Leave a Reply

