how to fill the silence.

With Mom and Dad out of town recently, I spent a lot of time dog sitting out at their house. That time consisted of cooking, girl’s nights, and beer.

First off, I finally mastered quinoa. It only took a little over 6 months. I used a recipe Brittany had sent me for Quinoa with Jalapeno, Peaches, and Pecans. But because I can never follow directions, here’s how I changed things up.

I used the following ingredients:

2 cups vegetable broth – I bought it in the can this time, so it was a little under 2 cups.

1 cup uncooked quinoa

2 large jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced

1 large fresh peach, peeled and diced

a dash of salt and a dash of pepper

I would have used 1/2 cup chopped pecans but I forgot to bring some over to Mom and Dad’s. When Brittany made the recipe last summer while we were in Kiawah, she used pecans.

To prepare, I went ahead and cooked the quinoa and then had it sitting on a back eye as I tossed some olive oil (instead of butter, which I rarely use) in a skillet over medium heat and tossed in the jalapenos to saute them. Once finished, I tossed the jalapeno and the diced peaches into the quinoa.

20130307-214831.jpg

When I wasn’t in the kitchen, I was at Bonefish with Katherine, Kendall, Katie, Erin, and Shirra. They had a delicious chocolate creme brulee that we all shared.

20130308-095807.jpg

Valerie, Mary Beth, Amanda, and I had Smoovie Night at Valerie’s! Val had the awesome idea to make smoothies and for us to watch a movie together! We picked Celeste and Jesse Forever. Rashida Jones’ character is so eerily like me in the things she says it had us cracking up the whole movie.

http://youtu.be/GXC56eceVLI

Saturday morning I headed to meet Paige for brunch and then Jon and I decided to head to the Cornbread Festival. When that didn’t pan out exactly as we’d hoped we stopped by Drip for some thirst quenching (and for him, a grilled cheese).

20130308-100454.jpg

Then we headed over to World of Beer.

20130308-100904.jpg

While we were there telling stories the place kept filling up with my guy friends from Clemson including one of my best friend from college’s husbands! Duane!

20130308-101037.jpg

We ended the night at Oyster Bar with some magnificent oysters. Perfect recipe for an overcast and cold Columbia Saturday.

Leave a Reply

