january in charleston.

One of my [many] favorite Avett Brothers songs is January Wedding.

So, naturally, I was over the moon when Sarah decided to get married in January in Charleston! I planned to spend the weekend with Brittany for one last time before baby Grace is born. I headed down to Charleston Friday after work and once I got there, Brittany, Derrick, and I headed to Fuel for supper. I’d only been to Fuel once, for lunch, back in September. For dinner they have the same menu – plus a special restaurant week menu for this past week. Last time, I had the ahi tuna tacos and sweet potato fries. This time, I went with the grilled mahi mahi tacos (grilled mahi, avocado pico, spicy pineapple relish) with black beans.

Saturday morning we woke up and headed to King Street to run errands.

20130120-164904.jpg

We started with lunch at Jestine’s.

20130120-160131.jpg

Of course I had the grilled cheese. And it was amazing.

20130120-160233.jpg

Afterwards, Brittany and I did a bit of shopping on King Street before heading home so that I could get ready for the wedding!

Brittany and I took a picture before I left and she and Derrick went to dinner at Basil.

20130120-160423.jpg

I headed downtown to Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim Synagogue for Sarah’s wedding! My first time seeing the stomping of the glass! A reception followed at the William Aiken House. It was absolutely beautiful. As was the bride.

20130120-180326.jpg

I had fun catching up with the girls I grew up with — Mary, Sarah, Bryn, and Mary Beth!

20130120-180639.jpg

I also loooooved the photo booth, per usual. I even Manti Te’oed it.

20130120-181001.jpg

Sunday morning, before heading back to Columbia, Brittany, Derrick, and I headed to Angel Oak Restaurant.

20130120-181051.jpg

I am a big fan. Brunch was delicious and of course the company was awesome. I – the worst “vegetarian” in the world – couldn’t resist the brioche sandwich (apple butter, country ham, brie, and pepper jelly) plus a side of pimento cheese grits. Not to mention that we started with the house made beignets (powdered sugar dusted donuts with chocolate sauce).

20130120-181523.jpg

I can’t rave about Angel Oak enough. But then again, it’s Charleston. Where everything always seems just a little better.

Leave a Reply

