charleston food tour.

I told my parents close to 6 months ago that the one thing I wanted this fall was to go to dinner at Husk with them. So, about 3 months ago they made reservations and let me in on this knowledge just a couple of weeks ago.

Saturday morning I got up, turned on my Mumford & Sons pandora station, and packed and got ready for Mom and Dad to pick me up.

Once we got to Charleston we headed to Fuel for lunch at Brittany’s recommendation. We started with the trio of house-made salsas (pineapple habanero, tomatillo, and roasted tomato). And, of course, I had a Stella. For lunch I ordered the grilled tuna tacos (grilled local tuna, sweet corn relish, green chili aioli, and green slaw) and sweet potato fries. It was delicious.

20120923-145039.jpg

Afterwards, we headed downtown to King Street to walk around some. King of Pops was in Williams-Sonoma so we got a little treat for our shopping trip.

20120923-145347.jpg

I ended up scoring at $150 dress for $10 at Urban Outfitters. Win! We left downtown to head to the river to check into our hotel and watch a little bit of the USC v Missouri game before dinner.

20120923-145906.jpg

When we headed back downtown, Dad suggested we have a pre-dinner drink a Fulton Five. Apparently that’s my dad’s version of Cheers. We walked in and they said “Hey Tommy!” The things you know. We had a glass of 2009 Stratton Lumis which was delish.

20120923-150218.jpg

When we finished our wine we headed to Husk for supper. When we got to Husk, we ordered a bottle of wine from the Willamette Valley, naturally.

20120923-163515.jpg

For our appetizer, we ordered the grilled crostini with TN cheddar pimento cheese, VA jowl bacon jam and dill pickle relish. A combo I’ve never thought about that I thought was wonderful.

20120923-163738.jpg

For dinner, Mom and I both ordered the cornmeal dusted Carolina Classic catfish with fried cabbage, smoky butter beans and potlikker broth.

20120923-163909.jpg

We all shared the baked Geechie Boy grits with Mepkin Abbey mushrooms and TN cheddar and a skillet of smoky Benton’s bacon cornbread. So so good. For dessert we split a chocolate tort.

20120923-164244.jpg

I also had a cup of Charleston green tea. J’adore.

20120923-164357.jpg

It was a perfect evening (except for Clemson’s devastating loss to FSU).

This morning, I woke up to a beautiful view.

20120923-164509.jpg

We checked out of our hotel and headed to Hominy Grill for brunch. I had the huevos rancheros: poached eggs with black beans, rice, tortillas, and salsa. So good! I also had a side of cheese grits and a mimosa.

20120923-164931.jpg

Before we headed out of town we hit the outlets and Starbucks for lattes.

20120923-165015.jpg

One of my absolute favorite road trips for sure.

2 thoughts on “charleston food tour.

Leave a Reply

