staple guns & burlap.

Sunday morning when I should have been to church but was instead listening to the sound of the rain outside my window, I devised a new plan.

It’s funny how one minute you see something as dull and the next you can see it in an entirely new light.

In the interim of time between my not having a coffee table and my plans to procure one I’ve been using a stool I’ve had since college for the task of keeping my magazine/bowl/book/glass within an arm’s reach of my couch. But I hated it. The color – for someone that has a little bit of every color in her place – was oddly all wrong. I couldn’t wait to stow the piece away until I deemed the insufferable thing relevant once again.

Until Sunday morning, that is. When I decided to simply recover it. The thing about Sundays is, while it’s my absolute favorite day of the week, some stores just don’t agree. Hobby Lobby, the most convenient fabric location for me, isn’t open on Sundays. Thus I had to do the unthinkable.

I went to Walmart. And Walmart’s fabric selection is about as pretty as their floors. Therefore I made the executive decision to pick up a couple yards of burlap. Something I had already fully intended on doing for future undecided projects. I also bought my very own staple gun. No more borrowing Mom ad Dad’s! Watch out, Kevin McCallister.

With a glass of wine in one hand and the staple gun in the other, this is what I put together:

20120821-155920.jpg

Up next: a coffee table.

Leave a Reply

