you’re welcome, cubs.

Monday – Memorial Day – I got to witness the Cubs break a 12 game losing streak AND get to see Wrigley for the first time in my life! It was, in one word, awesome.

After another big breakfast Pete and I headed down to Wrigleyville and walked around the stadium. I was fasinated with the bleachers on top of the buildings in the outfield and the sheer number of people everywhere. It felt more like a college football game than am MLB baseball game.

Before we went in the stadium I got my picture taken with Harry Caray.

Once we got in I was all set to people watch. The bullpens at Wrigley are far more old school than what I’m used to. In fact the whole element of the stadium is. I had already remarked to Pete how much smaller it felt from the outside – from the inside it’s true to my assessment.

Pete pointed out to me that it seems that folks at Wrigley drink a lot more than they do in Atlanta. That was quickly confirmed when I realized the only game plays I’d missed were because they guy selling beer was directly in front of me. Of course, I had to join in with an Old Style (or two).

I can’t recall how many home runs there were total in the game but I do recall when it hit 8 (4 for the Cubs, 4 for the Padres). I definitely didn’t fly to Chicago for a boring baseball game. I can’t think of anything better to be spending Memorial Day doing than to be at a MLB game and I’m so thankful I was able to do that on Monday. Not to mention the weather was absolutely beautiful.

After the win we headed to The Gingerman Tavern for a couple of Green Lines. I sat by the window and watched the droves of people pass by outside and the couples inside making out. It was spectacular.

I think this trip did it for sure — I am head over heels in love with Chicago. Sorry, Columbia.

Leave a Reply

