a perfect weekend.

Early Saturday morning I was up and at ’em and out running errands at an hour in which I had to figure out which stores would be open yet because certainly not all of them would be. Daniel called me when he woke up and we decided to go find a spot to have breakfast. We were stupefied when we realized that most Columbia brunch spots don’t open until 11 am. I suggested we head down to the All Local Farmer’s Market at 701 Whaley and see what was there. Daniel had never been so I was excited to share it with him.

We were trying to decide on where to grab breakfast when we walked over to this:

I was so excited to try their breakfast taco. It included scrambled eggs, cheese, black bean and corn salsa, and bacon. I got it sans bacon or, as the cook called it, “hold the fun.”

So dang good. After breakfast, we went out to Fleet Feet where Daniel bought me a 13.1 magnet for my car and then we stopped by Sims Music for Customer Appreciation Day. Our friend Mark’s band was the first band to play out there, so we got to catch him on the drums.

After I’d successfully picked out a ukulele I want, we left there. Ashley had her bridal portraits the rest of the afternoon and I was on call as a bridesmaid to attend a hair and makeup appointment and to help with the portraits. She will no doubt be the most beautiful bride I’ve ever seen. We all headed to Za’s afterwards for supper and wine. I ended up going with a zone for supper instead of pizza.

Five Cheese Zone

Traditional sauce, mozzarella, monterey jack, cheddar, provolone and feta cheese. Served with a side of marinara sauce.

Sunday morning I woke up and headed to Cristen’s house for breakfast. She cooked for her Spanish roommate and a friend of his who is in town from Spain and invited me over as well. When I got there she had a plate full of scrambled eggs, purple and sweet potatoes, and goat cheese. It was, needless to say, delicious. She adopted it from a brunch she had recently at 116 State. When we finished with breakfast, Cristen and I went back to my place and sat out by the pool for the remainder of the day.

I love people watching by the pool and yesterday didn’t disappoint. After we’d been out there approximately 7 hours, we, along with my neighbor Jeff, headed to Pawley’s for an early dinner. Jeff and I both ordered fish tacos and sweet potato fries.

Grilled Mahi-Mahi Tacos

With grilled corn & black bean salsa, chipotle pepper sour cream and shredded cabbage.

I also drank a few Sweetwater Blues. It was a great Sunday funday and followed up with Jeff and I watching the Sunday night episode of Girls on HBO which, while we’re both big fans of the show, is an interesting choice for mixed company.

Leave a Reply

