kale & walnut pesto pasta.

I cooked! In my kitchen! While other people are announcing new babies on facebook I’m here to announce my newest food baby.

Last night I went home with my kale in hand and set out to make my kitchen dirty to make Kale and Walnut Pesto Pasta. Here I am ready to rumble:

I started off by washing the kale and pulling it off the large stems. The recipe called for using 10 leaves. I think I ended up going with 7 before I thought – whoa, that’s a lot – and stopped.

I filled the biggest pot I have with water, waited for it to come to a boil, and then filled it with the kale. Once it returned to a boil (it really never subsided, I just stirred it around until I was satisfied) I removed the kale. I also discovered that I don’t have a slotted spoon, so I used a fork to get the kale out. I used the water I boiled the kale in to boil my pasta. I dumped a 16 oz bag of Trader Joes wheat penne pasta in once the water had returned to a boil and cooked the pasta for around 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I got out my cuisinart chopper and chopped up a 1/2 cup of walnuts and 5 cloves of garlic. Once this combo turned into a sort of paste, I coated the kale with it. Next, I put all of the freshly coated kale into the cuisinart. Then I broke the cuisinart. (Hello, I clearly need a man.) So I pulled out my trusty blender, tossed in the the kale and the garlic and walnut paste and started the process of blending it as thoroughly as possible – and adding in olive oil as I went – until it all started to resemble pesto!

I drained the pasta, put it in a bowl, and then started adding the kale and walnut pesto. So pretty.

I fixed myself a bowl for dinner and sat out on the porch with my book. The dish was pretty strong kale-wise, so I can’t imagine having added any additional kale to the recipe.

Overall though, it was really good and I can’t wait to have more for lunch today.

I have about 4-5 bundles remaining from my farmer’s market trip, so I need more kale recipes!

3 thoughts on “kale & walnut pesto pasta.

  1. you are so cute in your tennis shoes and apron! If you don’t like the strong kale taste – play around with other greens! I sometimes add peas, pea shoots, spinach — and a small handful of basil! have fun! you can also make the pesto a little thinner as well — then add some grated cheese, etc, to thicken it back up when it’s out of your blender or food processor!!

Leave a Reply

