creatinspiration: knobs and handles.

I feel like I always have some sort of looming project that I’m just waiting until I’m going to be forced into completing it. And that doesn’t count the large quantity of items needing a restitched hem or button sewn on, canvases left unfinished, knitting projects left incomplete, and – the “jewelry hospital”, as my mom calls it – which has a full waiting room.

I have three pieces of furniture that I’ve either bought or acquired that I’ve never quite been satisfied with the knobs on. One is a red bookshelf in need of a fresh coat of paint and sealer and which, despite the fact that I bought new Anthropologie knobs for, never seems to feel “complete.”

The other two pieces are those which I acquired in some way. The first is a hutch. The handles have never been very secure and show a faint red color underneath. During my last move (in 2011) one of the handles came off. I need: 2 new handles. The knobs are very secure but I could be up for some kind of personality for the knobs with simple and traditional handles. If I kept the current knobs, funky handles are a must.

At my sister-in-law’s suggestion, I checked out World Market. They didn’t have any handles, but they did have some fun knobs. Here are a couple I liked:

I had to remind myself: handles are the priority. My knobs are functional, my handles are not. My first instinct after deciding my hutch needed doctoring asap was to check Anthropologie. They only had one handle I really like, a chartreuse Olleros Handle.

But it clashes with my current knobs. They did have some knobs I liked as well, though priced way above World Market’s: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 (in coral) | 5 | 6.

The last piece is a small table I picked up on the side of the road one Saturday night, the unsold orphan from a Saturday morning garage sale. I painted it red with the leftover paint I had from my aforementioned dresser. I had always intended to do something different to the top but have remained undecided about what that something different is. I’m also not sold on the color. But I do know this: I am not a fan of the drawer pull. But what do I want to do with it?

Suggestions, advice, and creatinspiration are greatly welcomed. I’m at a standstill.

Leave a Reply

