last friday night. & saturday & sunday.

Friday night one of my best friends, Justin, came in town from Clemson. Once he got here, we ended up heading to Cantina 76 to meet up with a bunch of our other guy friends for supper. At one point, Sims looked at me and said “Kristin, when you’re meeting us it’s your obligation to bring other girls with you. Oh, what am I saying? You never do.” Which is true. When I’m with those guys I’m always the token female. What can I say? I like to keep them all for myself.

While there, I finally tried my brother’s favorite taco, the Peruvian Shrimp.

Peruvian Shrimp

Lightly fried shrimp, sweet sesame chili sauce, topped with a jalapeño cole slaw.

It was good, but not great. I’ll stick with my favorite, the Veggie, from here on out.

Veggie

Veggie refried beans, shredded cheese, chipotle ranch, grilled onions, lettuce and pico de gallo.

I also started my night out with a much overdue Dos Equis Lager. So so good. Afterwards, we headed to World of Beer. There I had a Westbrook White Thai and a Sweetwater Blue. I love how World of Beer looks inside.

We headed to Tin Roof last. And the people watching there is SUBLIME. I happily sat in the corner with a beer and Sims and people watched the majority of the night.

The rest of the weekend I largely spent with my family. My brother Will and sister-in-law Katie came into town late afternoon and the three of us and our friend Kathryn headed to dinner Saturday night at M Vista. I love M Vista partly because, despite their 29 page menu, I get the same thing every time without regret. The Kung Pao Shrimp.

Kung Pao Shrimp

With peanuts and red & green bell peppers in a blackened chili sauce.

It’s sooooooo spicy. I used to order it “sans kung pao” but I’m trying to beef up my palate and slow down my eating. And M Vista got that right.

Katie and I also both ordered a mojito to drink.

Blueberry Mojito

Fresh mint leaves, fresh blueberries, Stoli Bluberi, Absolut Vanilla.

It was good, not great. I would’ve preferred a green tea mojito but sadly, M Vista doesn’t make them anymore.

Sunday, after lunch, Mom, Dad, Daniel, and I headed to the booming metropolis of New Zion, South Carolina to pick up some stuff at my grandmother’s. She had bought me a cedar chest earlier in the week and was sure I would want to paint it but I fell in love with it on sight and Daniel put it in the back of his truck for me immediately. She also had gotten a dust ruffle made for my ginormously tall antique iron bed. When Mom and I went to put it on my bed and I looked at it and asked if it was too princessy for me to which she replied, “You’ve always wanted to sleep under a canopy so, what can I say?”

My grandmother also got me this hat!:

Can’t wait to wear it by the pool and look witchy!

While in New Zion we headed to downtown Turbeville to check out a furniture shop. The owner opened it just for us because we couldn’t make it over there any other day but Sunday. Turbeville New and Used Furniture is a HIDDEN GEM. The pieces are fab, ridiculously low priced, and my grandmother says they get new stuff every. single. day.

Also, there’s a one stop shop restaurant next door.

Seriously, pizza, subs, and mexican? I don’t even want to know. I’d recommend driving right on past and hitting up the Bojangles connected to the IGA.

My weekend ended with pizza on the porch with Mom and Dad. I couldn’t have scripted that better.

Leave a Reply

