super mom: 1, kristin: 0.

Saturday afternoon I jumped in the car with my latte and headed to Charleston to spend some time with my best friend from high school and her husband. I never get to see Elizabeth and Bryan enough and they’re two of the most important people in my life so I had been looking forward to spending a night with them.

When I got into town, Elizabeth had some stuff we needed to finish up for a shower for Meagan on Sunday. And by “we” I mean she finished cake pops and cupcakes with a baby on the hip and one tugging at her side while I sipped on my green tea, which Bryan fixed me. Something’s just not right with this picture. I did have Blakely in my lap at one point. So I feel like that’s a small excuse.

Once Eli finished and we took a brief trip to the outlets, we gussied up, said adios to the babysitter and Eli and Bryan’s girls – Blakely and Finley, and the three of us headed out for the night.

Our first stop was Cork in Park Circle. I really liked the intimacy of Cork and the fact that every. single. thing. on the menu sounded incredible. Unfortunately, they were out of shrimp. For dinner I settled for the black bean burger and pimento mac and cheese along with a bowl of the roasted red pepper lobster soup. Obviously, I was feeling super healthy. And that soup was in-cre-di-ble.

From there, we headed over to Home Team to check out the Lowcountry Blues Club and say hello to some of Eli and Bryan’s friends. After one drink, we headed to downtown Charleston for a quick cocktail at Vendue before they closed and then, to locate the elusive Speakeasy on East Bay. Speakeasy is by far my favorite Charleston bar as of this weekend. (Sorry, Red’s.) Elizabeth and I both ordered a “Speak Softly” to drink.

Speak Softly

Lavender & Rosemary Infused vodka, St. Germain Elderflower Liquer, raspberries & champagne

Next time, somebody bring me a straw. So good. And so much fun with my long time best friend.

This morning, Elizabeth and I went and ran a few errands with the girls including a trip to Publix and Starbucks – two of their Aunt Kristin’s favorite places.

Next up we headed over to John’s Island to set up for Meagan‘s baby shower. Elizabeth is a younger, more beautiful version of Martha Stewart. She’s always been the most artistic and creative girl I’ve known and this past weekend reminded me of the super mom and super creative genius that she is. She, in her co-hosting role, put together the most beautiful baby shower for sweet baby M to be.

Once it was all said and done, I left Charleston with a yawn. This weekend sure did wear me out! But I had SO MUCH FUN with my beautiful friends.

Leave a Reply

