my latest favorites.

1. The veggie tacos at Cantina 76 are undoubtedly one of my favorite things. Ever. Lately if I can’t think of what I want either veggie tacos or fish tacos fit the bill without hesitation. So having two veggie tacos from Cantina for lunch today definitely means today’s a good day. And if anyone can recreate that tomatillo salsa, call me.

Veggie

Veggie refried beans, shredded cheese and tomatillo salsa

2. I can’t wait to have a balcony (and kitchen) full of fresh herbs and vegetable plants. Yesterday, while at City Roots, my boss picked up a couple mini tomato plants while I talked to the chickens.

I seriously cannot wait to have homegrown goodness in my kitchen. I’m thinking I’m going to need an eggplant plant. Is that redundant? Can’t wait to bug my green thumbed farming friends and set an alarm on my iPhone every day that says WATER PLANTS.

3. I blame Laura for my recent purchase from Tobi. But – fingers crossed – I love this new purchase:

4. Yesterday I got to see Marshall Tucker play the piano and sing. Marshall Tucker, like the band, but not. I was sitting in a church on Wikipedia doing my research on the man. Educate yourself:

The “Marshall Tucker” in the band’s name does not refer to a band member, but rather a Spartanburg-area piano tuner. While the band was discussing possible band names one evening in an old warehouse they had rented for rehearsal space, someone noticed that the warehouse’s door key had the name “Marshall Tucker” inscribed on it, and suggested they called themselves the “The Marshall Tucker Band,” not realizing it referred to an actual person. It later came to light that Marshall Tucker, the blind piano tuner, had rented the space before the band, and the landlord had yet to change the inscription on the key. (Source: Wikipedia.)

But still, pretty cool, right?

5. Tuesday I finally gave blood for the first time in 2 years. It was LONG overdue. The guy at the Red Cross asked me why it had been so long since I’d been in (after noticing my rapid fire previous record) and I had to tell him that sorry I had been to Costa Rica and Cancun instead. Every time I go donate I’m reminded of one of my favorite songs ever by Loggins & Messina that sings “Even though we ain’t got money, I’m so in love with you honey …” I’d like to rewrite that for a Red Cross ad campaign and sing “Even though we ain’t got money, I can still give blood to you honey …” Or is that too vampire-like? That aside, go, give, now. You may need some yourself someday.

Leave a Reply

