pre-race report.

I left work on Friday afternoon bound for Atlanta with all my training behind me and got in my car to a surprise from Catherine (who has the passcode to my car) in the passenger seat. She’d left me a stash of Luna bars, nuts, chips, salsa, granola bars, and more! Along with the following card:

Do I have the greatest friends or what? Fyi, the scratched out parts says “out of beer.”

With that, I turned the car on and started driving with my Avett Brothers Pandora station on full blast. If anyone ever doubts my country girl heart, ride in the car with me as I drive in Atlanta on a Friday night. It’s a little bit like this:

Minus the boyfriend, obviously. Apparently the president was in Atlanta Friday night. I blame him.

When I got to Atlanta I parked myself at Sarah‘s apartment not ready to move (or drive) ever again. At least until I had to drive back to South Carolina.

Saturday morning we woke up and it was St. Patrick’s Day! I decided to bust out the hat I bought last year and wore it for approximately 2.5 seconds:

Then I had some normal conversations:

And then we headed downtown to the Expo so that I could pick up my race packet. I thought the Expo was really cool. The race was sponsored by Publix so they had a mini supermarket and were giving out samples. My favorite aside from Annie’s cheddar bunnies (hello, I heart goldfish – and cheese) was a lentil salsa dip they were putting with pita chips. I can’t wait to make it at home. After picking up my packet and Sarah deciding that if I moved to Atlanta she could find me a boyfriend in under a week after a 20-year-old boy with his mother in tow wished me good luck, we headed to grab lunch at Taqueria del Sol. I had two veggie tacos and they were DELISH.

Veggie

Veggie jalapeño refried beans, queso blanco and roasted tomatillo salsa.

Afterwards we made a b-line to Anthropologie (I got some new shorts for Clemson games!), Star Provisions, and Jonathan Adler before finally making our way to Ikea for MY FIRST TRIP EVER and also some QT with Reagan on our friendiversary. That’s right. We have a friendiversary. I’ll never forget St. Patrick’s Day 2010. Ouch. Reagan purchased a love fern (or at least that’s what I’m calling it) at Ikea:

When we left Ikea I was exhausted (and broke) so we headed back to the apartment for a short while before dinner. For supper, we went to Osterio del Figo and I decided I wanted absolutely everything on the menu before finally setting on this on top of whole wheat linguine (which made for a great post-race meal as well):

Checca Fiorentina

Chopped vine-ripened tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, minced garlic, basil and extra virgin olive oil

Carb-full and tired, Sarah and got some couch time together Saturday night and even a small fireworks show!

And then I had to get to sleep because my alarm was going to start buzzing at approximately 4:40 am.

Leave a Reply

