ain’t too proud to beg.

This weekend was a pretty fun one in terms of how much time I was able to spend with my family, but not so fun in terms of how ill I felt a large portion of the time. Friday night started with dinner at Rosso with the fam and then a little shopping afterwards and an early night to bed. The 4 of us split the bruschetta appetizer and then Mom and I both had the trout special with fingerling potatoes and salad and it truly was incredible.

Saturday morning I ran 9 miles (9! miles!) and then basically felt like butt the whole rest of the day. I got so overwhelmed with wanting good eats that I never got good eats until it was late and my 24 hour a day fish taco craving hadn’t (and still has not) yet subsided and I mozied my way to the kitchen to see what I could whip up. Baked tilapia + feta + millet and flax spinach lavish tortillas equals dinner. Plus a verry berry Chobani greek yogurt and chocolate almond milk for “dessert.”

I woke up Sunday morning still not feeling great and went on a quick two mile run before heading over to Mom and Dad’s to be entertained by Mom.

There’s this fantastic scene in The Big Chill (well, really, the whole movie is just one fantastic scene) where the whole group is dancing around the kitchen. It came on the kitchen tv yesterday while Mom and I were doing essentially the same thing.

Whilst immersed in The Big Chill, conversation, and uncontrollable laughter, we first made Moroccan Lentil Soup. Did everyone else in the world know that garbanzo beans are the same thing as chickpeas? Yes? Well boo to you because I’ve been searching for chickpeas in the grocery store for far too long. Learn something new every day.

So, Moroccan Lentil Soup, while quite tasty (and our version: quite spicy) … it isn’t the most beautiful thing in the world. After you cook it in the pot you’re supposed to mush up half of it and toss it back in and the aesthetics of all that ain’t quiiiiite a beaut. Case in point:

Once we got that a-cookin’ we snacked on tasty red pepper hummus + cucumbers + cracked pepper treats (and pistachios).

Meanwhile we moved on to making Tabbouleh. Instead of using bulgur, we substituted using cream of wheat, which Mom informed me she used to feed me as a babe.

Prep:

Final:

Voila. (Mom used this against me in Hanging with Friends last night and thought that she’d played “viola.”)

I had some more Tabbouleh for breakfast this morning. Nom nom nom nomday!

Leave a Reply

