what i’m eating.

Between my attempts to read Wuthering Heights I have been doing much more page flipping through Skinny Bitch and The Kind Life both this past week, largely in an attempt to know what I’m eating before I eat it. (And, in turn, to know what to buy before I step foot in any sort of grocery store.)

Which, actually, has all been surprisingly fun for me. Conscious eating has been something I’ve been wanting to tackle for some time (despite my love of chicken fingers and mozz sticks) and I am hopeful in the ways it will change my life.

So here’s my current plan (subject to change daily and nightly – Will it ever stop? Yo, I don’t know. Turn off the lights and I’ll glow.):

Breakfast

Instant oatmeal (good for my forever embarrassingly high cholesterol – thank you, genetics.)

Whole wheat bagel with almond butter (whenever I can finally locate almond butter. Seriously. I walked around the grocery store for a whole 30 minutes – mind you, while on the phone with Mom the whole time – and still never found it. Off to Earth Fare today I go.)

Fiber one cereal with soy milk

Scrambled eggs + diced tomato + feta (only until I run out of eggs and then it’s no more eggs & feta for me.)

Lunch

Salad

Pasta noodles with shredded carrots, cilantro, anything else I have

Dinner leftovers (this is my ideal money-saving, overeating-prevention goal.)

Dinner

Whole wheat spaghetti with a tomato based sauce

Eggplant eggplant eggplant (I could not love thee more.) (Also really looking forward to trying the Eggplant Chana Masala from The Kind Life.)

Brown rice and black beans + the secret ingredient, gomashio (a combo my mom taught me to survive on when she went macrobiotic 8 years ago.)

Salad (Alicia Silverstone – via The Kind Life – introduced me to Brianna’s poppyseed dressing and although I haven’t yet tried it I’m very much looking forward to it.)

Snacks

Blue corn chips and salsa (my FAVORITE salsa is from Trader Joes but since we don’t have one in Columbia I just discovered one from The Fresh Market that I’m really loving.)

Hummus and pita bread (warmed in the oven is the ONLY way to eat it — why do I feel late to this ball game?)

Here’s what I continue to struggle with:

I’m not a mushroom fan. At all. But I do tend to enjoy them when cooked well and I dark. I’d like to learn how to cook a portabello mushroom.

I lack a lot of vegetables in my diet and I’m pretty picky about them in general. I strongly dislike: sweet potatoes, squash, cauliflower, and brussel sprouts. I eat green beans, asparagus, and broccoli when cooked right. Aside from that I’m generally a bell pepper, onion, and (raw) carrot person.

I’m tired. Every day. Really tired. And I haven’t figured out exactly what I need to do to get my energy up.

2 thoughts on “what i’m eating.

Leave a Reply

