the reason.

Sometimes I get caught up in laughter and in wine, in day-to-day dramas and in pop culture, and I forget to take a moment to remember things. Then I’ll come across a particularly poignant piece of scripture or I’ll see that TWLOHA has uploaded a new video and it’ll reset me in motion, at least temporarily.

This morning I read some about Bob Crawford – of my favorite band in the world, The Avett Brothers. Bob recently took temporarily leave from the group after his 2-year-old was diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia. It really alters your perspective, the weight placed on heartbreak and a bad day at the office, when your mind turns to sick children or the big c or those affected by depression.

I have a lot of things I want to check off my great big to-do list in the sky, I have a lot of resolutions I haven’t quite yet put into writing but that I full intend to, but what I don’t want to get lost in between my “floss every day” promises to myself is the importance of remembering those close to you and those suffering and those who are unhappy and alone and angry and hurt and not forgetting to surround them with friendship and love and encouragement. When someone brings me down, I want to remember to turn around and lift someone else up.

If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be scared to die. – The Avett Brothers

Leave a Reply

