what i’m reading.

I’ve been reading a lot of things lately. And skimming a lot of things too. And watching a lot of Netflix (also know as my significant other). And drinking a good bit of wine. And spending a whole lot of time with my girl friends. Tis the season, right? And laughing at about everything Catherine says. Tis the every day.

This post by Carolyn on LIFE: For My Own Viewing PLEASURE was a great sound off and a great way for me to look back and accept a lot of things. I loved this:

You know the hardest lesson I learned in life was accepting the fact that people weren’t going to like me and there wasn’t a damn thing I could do about it. Really thought that I could convince anyone to see the good in me,  but it doesn’t mean that it isn’t there, they just choose not to see it. It was a lot easier when I realized that the majority of mean people are truly unhappy. I am not saying that some happy people don’t like me either, but it is also easier for happier people to give others the BOD (benefit of the doubt).

Sarah has been writing a lot of great things on He Loves Me Not lately. On Wednesday, she wrote a blog on the differences in relationships and eloquently ended with the following Carrie Bradshaw-like thought:

Was it worth it to be right instead of happy? I’d choose happy any day. And I am.

I also ADORED her story: We are frogs. Truer words have never been written. Read that and read Singled Out. I get that girl. She’s somethin’ special.

Also, yesterday, I stumbled upon the article Why You’re Not Married and the author wrote the following:

I am the mother of a 13-year-old boy, which is like living with the single-cell protozoa version of a husband. Here’s what my son wants out of life: macaroni and cheese, a video game, and Kim Kardashian. Have you ever seen Kim Kardashian angry? I didn’t think so. You’ve seen Kim Kardashian smile, wiggle, and make a sex tape.

THAT made me laugh out loud. What I got from the article: be more like Kim Kardashian. Get ready world.

So while I’ve been reading all of THIS in the form of magazines and internet stories and blogs, I’ve been failing in one small way for what feels like FOREVER. And that’s to read a book cover to cover. I think the last one I completed was Water for Elephants.

Pete and I were discussing this problem as we both seem to be mildly suffering from it. So we offered up a book challenge. We read the same book at the same time and the first one to complete it picks the next book.

I picked the first:

May the best WOMAN win.

One thought on “what i’m reading.

Leave a Reply

