give thanks.

A week ago my mom looked at me, trying to offer me some encouragement whilst I was tallying some negatives audibly, and she told me to count my blessings.

Embarrassingly, I didn’t give much thought or attention to what she said. But she stared at me as I tried to squirm and wallow.

We’ve seen a lot of sadness this year. Unnatural and unexpected sadness. I’ve shed more tears in the past 11 months than in any months that I can recall.

Mom is right. Blessings should be counted. That the people around us are happy and healthy and well is something to cherish. My parents, my brothers, my sister-in-law, my friends. We’re blessed.

Some days might not be perfect. Some days we might be counting pennies and smiles. Some days we might scream and shout. But good health – mental and physical – is something that I will be thankful for every day.

Leave a Reply

