peaceful easy feeling.

This morning I was reading about Michelle Williams’ new spread in Vogue and her recent openness about the death of Heath Ledger when I stumbled upon this, which she said:

Look, it’s not a perfectly operating system, there are holes and dips and electrical storms, but the basics are intact. [The death has] changed how I see the world and how I interact on a daily basis. It’s changed the parent I am. It’s changed the friend I am. It’s changed the kind of work that I really want to do. It’s become the lens through which I see life — that it’s all impermanent.

I’ve been reading a lot lately about how certain life events can certainly change your outlook. (Hello – the 10th anniversary of 9.11 was just 4 days ago.) It’s stories of sunshine through pain that are unfolding themselves as lighthouses, not just to me (but to me as well).

Last week I couldn’t get over sadness. Unnecessary, unneeded sadness. It wasn’t a life event, for me. It was a week of feeling down and getting a few small yet swift kicks while I was down there. It made me think a lot about To Write Love on Her Arms and why I think that is such an important charitable organization to recognize. People dip for a reason and sometimes, for no reason at all. Sometimes it can be caused by the loss of a loved one, sometimes by the loss of a job, and sometimes by the loss of one’s self.

A lot of people have asked me – more recently, I’ve felt, than ever before – what exactly TWLOHA is. I say it’s about hope. How can we find hope?

I find hope in friendships and in fashion and in beauty and in silliness and funny stories. I’ve found a lot of hope in love this past year. I find hope in the unseen. I find hope in God. I find hope in compassion and humility and in the strength of others. I find hope in the ability to relish in the sun on a secluded beach with someone you love — or even in the mere thought of that happening. I find hope in the love of other’s, in the simple pleasures, and even in Chick-fil-A.

Leave a Reply

