reminding myself to breathe.

I realized yesterday that I am beyond overwhelmed. I set this bar for myself of things I want to accomplish in my “free time” now that I no longer have  a boyfriend in town and also have the luxury of not having to go out and try to meet a boy (yay! LDR for the win!). And yet, perhaps the bar is too high?

I spent Monday late afternoon/evening trying to organize my recipes, get wine out of a dress, and fix jewelry for both myself and one of my roommates. Yesterday I found myself frantically attempting to organize my life by way of my planner. Which, despite what I did, still somehow manages to have umpteen papers stuck throughout it.

Last night I attended a 6 pm City Council meeting, for which I had to write an article on first thing this morning for the weekly paper I freelance for. After the meeting last night, I stopped at the grocery store on the way home because I wanted to make a different kind of sauce for my leftover noodles from the night before. When I got home, I went for a 2 mile run in the pitch black dark and then attempted to make this, when instead just making some concoction of halved cherry tomatoes, fresh garlic from Carolina Garlic, olive oil, pine nuts, and feta. Guess what? It was super good. Guess what else? It didn’t take 30 plus minutes to cook.

Today I have lunch plans with an old friend from college and dinner plans for a girl friend’s birthday. And somehow I have to fit in a run, a trip to the tailor, and a visit to the book store.

I wonder if I can catch a break at some point.

2 thoughts on “reminding myself to breathe.

Leave a Reply

