let’s talk about grilled cheese, baby.

The summer before my freshman year in college I encountered a class schedule that went something like this:

8:00 – 9:15 am – English

9:30 – 10:45 am – University Studies

11:00 – 12:15 pm – Reading

12: 30 – Lake

When I was hungry, the best amateur wakeboarder I knew, who lived in my building, would come over and make me Easy Mac. Because if there was one thing I couldn’t figure out, it was the microwave. I had lived my life up until then on homecooked meals. I knew nothing about microwaves and frozen foods. But Drew would show up, add water, stir, microwave, and hand it over. It was excellence in a bowl.

When freshman year started, Drew lived across campus but he would still come over to my dorm, in between classes, add water, stir, microwave, and deliver.

Since college, Easy Mac has long become a thing of the past. And grilled cheese has become a thing of my every. waking. thought. And I mean every. It’s my cheese-oozing happiness-inducing hunger-fulfilling love. And unlike Easy Mac, I’m determined to perfect it all my own.

So today, on National Grilled Cheese Day 2011, I think we should celebrate that which puts a smile on my face at its mere existence. Grilled cheese, I LOVE YOU.

{Today’s lunch. McAlister’s Deli, Irmo, SC.}

2 thoughts on “let’s talk about grilled cheese, baby.

Leave a Reply

