waxing philosophically about celebrities.

Amy: Dad, I’ve always wanted to be a dancer. Ever since I was little.

Dr. Abbott: Yes, but you also wanted to be a princess and an astronaut. And if I recall, at one point, a carrot.

(Everwood)

In an effort to narrow down the idea of what I want to be when I grow up so that I might live fully and with more direction than I have over the previous four to twelve years of my life, I have come to a few conclusions as to what, exactly, would make me the happiest.

I would like to begin by stating that first I would like to re-do college. Forget going back to high school and seeing if I could “love” it afterall, I want to do the college thing again. And to be of legal drinking age while doing so. Decidedly, I am certain that doing such would best help me identify where I would like to be in my “future” because, yea, I intend to think often and long about my “future” while living “collegiately.” Every summer during this re-do of college I would like to live part Christopher McCandless, part groupie. Think Kate Hudson in Almost Famous groupie. Because if things with Emile Hirsch don’t work out for me, Billy Crudup is next. And I do know he likes South Carolina girls so there’s that.

When I wonder about the Billy Crudup thing and, you know, his “integrity” (a word a woman today told me not to settle for a man without) after the whole Mary Louise Parker/Claire Danes scam shlam, I remember Without Limits and, sigh.

Emile Hirsch, however, has yet to fail me in only the way breaking up with your long time girlfriend in her 7th month of pregnancy can. And then there’s the fact that, well, Emile Hirsch is one hot dude. And when LA bff told me she went up to him at a cocktail lounge in LA because 1 – she loves him (note: I will fight her for him.) and 2 – because he was there, alone, I thought (for once in my life) SHUT UP JOHN MAYER, I think I DO want to go to LA after all! And also: John Mayer, what exactly can I do to make you forgive me for telling you to shut up? Prrrr.

So really, in search of the answer of my age old Felicity-like dilemma of artist verses lawyer, writer versus bureaucrat, I really can’t get much further past Emile Hirsch versus Billy Crudup.

[Sidenote: I just googled Billy Crudup and Mary Louise Parker and came up with this article which uses the terms “integrity” and “waxed philosophical” and what I’m trying to say is obviously Milton was right. No one’s thoughts are really all that original.]

One thought on “waxing philosophically about celebrities.

  1. You know, I have been thinking about re-doing college a lot lately too. Maybe it’s because it’s football season. I wish I had made more friends within my major and had been more active within that department. I feel like I don’t have a whole lot to show for my college experience.

Leave a Reply

