nothing synthetic here.

Post dog walk I was propped on a stool in the kitchen “helping” cook quinoa (of which the mere attempt at pronunciation can morph into an hour long conversation) because Mom saw my presence as an opportunity to bring out the picky eater’s picnic, quite fittingly. Whilst the quinoa (er – cheenwaa) cooked, we (she) moved on to How to Cook and Eat Artichoke. As we were knifing off the stems and the totally underestimated prickly tips, I asked Mom if I could ask her a question. I then clarified that this question was one I would like a response to, unlike earlier in the day when I said, “I have something to tell you and before I say it I want you to know I don’t care what you think.” Which when I, afterwards, asked what she thought? She reminded me that since I didn’t care anyway, she wasn’t giving it. (This is how one spells DIFFICULT.)

So the question: “What are the benefits – in your mind – of eating organic?”

Mom’s response: “I thought you were going to ask me something good.”

I had posed that question to a coworker the day before who told me, “Nothing. You’re not getting weird on us now, are you?” And, well, you know… question not being answered I had to try again.

I’m preferable to organic fruits. And fruits being a main part of my diet I feel like it would be beneficial to know the reason why I lean towards organic apples and organic bananas, other than my personal belief that they are more palatable.

Lately I’ve been trying to figure out exactly what my “diet” should consist of. Well, alright, to be honest I’ve been trying to figure out exactly which diet category I fit into. Because I am all about fitting in. Or trying to, anyway. This has led me to an extensive amount of research on gluten-free, fruitarianism, flexitarianism, pescetarianism, vegetarianism, veganism, and macrobiotic (a heavy practice of Mom’s for a large part of my college years).

All this has forced me to come to a conclusion. One, in fact, confirmed by Katherine. I am creating a new diet by the name of Kristinarianism. Look for it soon on Wikipedia.

Kristinarianism is the practice of following a diet including fruits, most vegetables, soy products, brown rice, oatmeal, seeds, tea, and low mercury seafood. A kristinarian diet excludes nuts, eggs, dairy, potato or corn based products, artificial sugar, mammals, birds, and products of animal slaughter such as animal-derived gelatin.  Kristinarianism may be adopted for ethical, health, environmental, religious, political, cultural, aesthetic, economic, or other reasons. The term is defined to mean: “one who eats whatever Kristin chooses to eat.”

4 thoughts on “nothing synthetic here.

Leave a Reply

