positivity.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about ways to make positive changes to my life and I feel as though there are a lot of ways to work on that – leading a life by example being foremost.

There are some things, namely, that I would like to explore in the coming months.

1. Quite simply, I want to get my order at Starbucks just right. For a long time it was a Double Chocolate Chip Creme Frappuccino. AHEM. I see a problem here. Did you know there are 420 calories in just 12 ounces of that bidness? I had a heart attack just googling it. So I switched to a Soy Chai Latte. And it was love at first sip. Yea, bitch, only 190 calories. But then – THEN – I thought I could do better than that. See, Starbucks and I? We’re in such a give and take relationship that I take take take and still think they’ll give me more. And by more I mean less. And by less I’m talking calories. So I went into the Buck last Friday and I asked the lady, “Can I get a chai tea minus the latte plus the soy?” Because that would be, in the words of Perez, amazeballs. And so my barista made a recommendation. And it included warmed up soy milk. And I added cinnamon to the top. (What? I couldn’t help it.) And it was, well, a deliciousness I could grow accustomed to. But could I order it again? Absolutely not. I have no idea what that chick recommended. Sigh. Guess I’ll have to go back to Starbucks soon.

2. I would like to do some research on flexitarianism. My mom, who was a very regimented macrobiotic for years following her diagnosis with breast cancer and continues, for the most part, to actively live a flexitarian lifestyle, has some literature I’m going to seek out. My hope is to do enough research over the course of the next month and a half to determine if this is something I can dedicatedly implement into my lifestyle. Or, I suppose, make my lifestyle. In reading Au Courant Columbia, in doing some research into Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, in hearing countless reviews of  Jonathan Safran Foer’s Eating Animals (and as such adding it to my must-read queue), and in support of my own belief that eating locally grown foods directly from the earth are not only beneficial to the local economy and local businesses, but to myself, I have deemed this to be something worthy of consideration. And something that would make me, in general, more puritan. I have already begun shifting most of my products – makeups, lotions, shampoos, soaps, etc. – to eco-friendly products, when doable. So this would just be another step towards becoming more environmentally friendly and, one would hope, reducing my carbon footprint.

3. I have had a pretty kick ass 2010. I went to Costa Rica for a week with a very dear friend, at little to no cost. I have been given, beginning at the start of February, a minimum of 3 months in which I have to make very very minimal (if any) food purchases. I have so so much to be thankful for. And I am using this as an opportunity to get a grasp on a number of things. Primarily, my bank account. But also, I am seeking it out as an opportunity to provide support to organizations which I support. For some time I have actively donated blood to the Red Cross. Mainly because those vampires remind me every time I am eligible to donate. But also largely because I figured that was something I could give. And if I could, then why not? Until January, when my trip to Costa Rica prevented me from giving. (Who knew? I’m now a disease risk, it seems, for a one year minimum.) And that kicked my butt into perhaps-I-should-give-elsewhere gear. Because I have a lot of giving I can do. So I have. To Haiti, to To Write Love On Her Arms, to the Women’s Shelter and Sexual Trauma Services of the Midlands, to Goodwill, and to my church. But I continue, actively, to look for ways in which I can give my money and my time because I, alone, have been given so much. And I want others to feel that kind of love too.

2 thoughts on “positivity.

Leave a Reply

